Squash pudding?? (Uh, yes!)

 

We got a giant hulking hokkaido squash in our farm box a while ago, and for weeks it sat on our countertop looking very fat, green, and intimidating. I wasn’t really sure what it was or what to do with it, what it would be good with, what it would taste like, etc. until I did a little research that said this kind of squash is even sweeter than butternut and works well in soups and pies. Pies! What! I’ve never had squash pie in my life so I was immediately intrigued. However, now that I’m trying to eat gluten-free, in order to make squash pie I would also need to either make or acquire a GF pie crust. And both of those options seemed like altogether too much effort last night.

Instead, I found a recipe for butternut squash pudding– “butternutscotch,” as the recipe I used calls it. The recipe is gluten-free, but definitely not dairy-free. I didn’t want to risk using soy milk with this recipe, either, since I’m not sure how one would replace heavy cream with a non-dairy substitute. Will have to do some research on that.

No, it's not cake batter, it's squash pudding!

This is what it looked like right before I attacked it with a spoon.

Of course, because I’m me, I didn’t quite cook the squash long enough, and I didn’t read the instructions correctly, so instead of mashing the roasted squash with a fork and then mixing it all up with the other ingredients I spooned the squash flesh (ew, flesh) into the blender and put it on pulse. It was really thick and after a few seconds it looked like nothing was happening. I was really afraid I broke the blender. That was not the case; the squash was just so plentiful and homogenous in the blender that I couldn’t see it mixing around. Everything else mixed up just fine with it. Phew.

Other stuff that I should have done differently: half of the squash was way more than 1 cup, so I added an extra egg, multiplied the dry ingredients by 1.5, and used 2 teaspoons of vanilla. I should’ve used just 1 teaspoon, though, since it’s so strong! I also messed up my sugar situation as the recipe called for brown sugar and I used half brown and half white, and I went a little overboard with upping the amount of sugar for my pseudo-doubling of the recipe. For all of you would be pudding-makers out there, BE YE NOT SO FOOLISH.

Anyway, although it’s a tad too sweet and the vanilla extract comes through a LOT, it’s still tasty enough that Boyfriend deemed it “delicious.” We’re psyched to eat this for dessert/snacks/really irresponsible breakfast(?) in the days to come.

Source: Butternut Squash Pudding @ Pinch My Salt

Leave a Reply

