Baking for Many: Dual-Chocolate Chip Cookie Edition

Dual-Chocolate Chip Cookies ready for their closeup

My department at work does a weekly rotating snacktime, and when my number came up, my co-snack-bringer and I agreed to bake cookies. After briefly considering buying prepackaged cookies or slice-and-bake dough, I decided to sack up and break out my recently acquired hand-mixer for some chocolate chip cookie goodness. While in the grocery store I was overcome with the urge to get weird and buy both white and semisweet chocolate chips. As a result, my cookies ended up being extra awesome tonight.

I modified the classic Nestle Toll House recipe slightly to include an extra egg yolk. I think that the cookies came out fluffier and chewier as a result. I also omitted the walnuts, because I forgot to buy them. Finally, I changed the brown-to-white sugar ratio because I thought I remembered reading about that somewhere.

Sugar in mixing bowl

Brown sugar reminds me of wet sand.

After taste-testing, Boyfriend said “we should keep 3 dozen of them,” which is a good sign– hopefully my colleagues won’t hate these babies!

Recipe and more photos after the jump.

cookie dough

DUAL-CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

Serves lots. I got 4 dozen, plus a giant leftover cookie, out of the dough.

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs + 1 egg yolk
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips
I should probably get a real stand for my iPad.

Makeshift iPad stand

Process

Again, these directions are mostly from the Toll House recipe.

  1. Preheat oven to 375° F. Of course, me being me, I forgot to turn the oven on until I was almost done mixing up the dough. Whoops.
  2. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl.
  3. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy. (Note: I did not read this until I had already put my dry ingredients into our one large bowl and so had to gingerly transfer that stuff into the small mixing bowl. We need more bowls.)
  4. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  5. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in chocolate chips.
  6. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets. If there isn’t enough dough left for an entire sheet of cookies at the end, you may want to consider making it into one mega-giant-monster cookie. It’ll be pretty great.
  7. Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes, then remove to cooling rack. Or stack on large plate because you don’t own a cooling rack.
  8. Enjoy, dammit!
monster cookie

Monster cookie got semi-destroyed before I could take a picture.

Leave a Reply

