Summer of triceps (and accountability)

The heat wave over Memorial Day weekend did nothing if not remind me that 1) summer is just around the corner, and she’s going to be a bitch, and 2) I will probably have to wrestle my way into a bathing suit at least once over the next few months. Blerg. However, Well + Good NYC recently posted a piece on “how to design your perfect summer,” and since I blindly follow all advice I read on the Internet, I’m obeying life coach Laurie Gerber’s first tip:

Write it down. The most important thing is to actually create a detailed plan, says Gerber, and put it in writing. Start with the tips below. “Extra credit if you read what you wrote, post it somewhere, and/or tell people!””

I’m willing to bet that Laurie’s already designed her perfect summer, and probably knows her stuff, because she looks really happy in her headshot– like she’s laughing at a really clever joke that we can’t hear.  So here I go, writing it down.

In the months of June, July, and August this year, I hereby pledge to:

  • Complete 20 workouts each month (an average of 5 per week).
  • Of those 20 monthly workouts, at least five will consist of trembling and grunting my way through a Physique 57 or other barre class (Core Fusion, Pure Barre, Bar Method, etc.)
  • Try something new/scary every month. So in June, I plan to take my very first spinning class at Flywheel. (Will my exercise-induced asthma and wonky knees be able to handle it? We’ll find out!) July may see me attempting taking on a hardcore session of metabolic resistance training with the Refine Method, and in August I’d like to make an ass of myself at Brooklyn Boulders or something else completely different from my usual dance-yoga-Pilates-barre routine.
  • And of course, I promise to rest on two non-consecutive days every week to let my body recover. That part’s easy.
Outside of working out, I will also:

  • Turn 27 without whining about how I’m getting “so old” (but really guys, I’m getting sooo old omgzwtf)
  • Drink cocktails– preferably fruity ones with a gin base– on rooftops, as often as possible.
  • Take advantage of the spacious kitchen in our new apartment with some serious hot-weather-friendly home cooking.
  • Obtain the necessary appliances to blend and juice to my heart’s content.

I’ll be sharing stories about my workouts and eats the whole way through. Stay tuned.

One comment

  1. Pingback: A long overdue update « Cooking to Sweden

Leave a Reply

